What is the Dandenong Club 12,000?

The Dandenong Club 12,000 is a short format (five ends) bowls pairs event, strictly limited to the first 75 teams of two players that register. Competition is open to both men and women. The total prize money is $12,000. Tier three national ranking points and prize money is available to the top 16 teams.

The tournament involves five qualifying pools, each made up of just 15 teams. Each involves three sections of five teams playing four matches, each of five ends in a three bowl pairs format. The finals night matches involve four games of six ends.

The best three best performing teams from each qualifying pool will progress to the finals scheduled for March 4. The next best performing team across all sections will make up the finals teams for the top 16 team night.

How to enter

Entrants can choose and enter a qualifying event by completing the online application and team payment at https://dandenongclub.com.au/bowls/bowls-events/

Qualifying dates at Dandenong Club are as follows:

Qualifying Pool 1 – Monday, February 14 at 7:00 pm This pool is sold out

Qualifying Pool 2 – Wednesday, February 16 at 7:30 pm This pool is sold out

Qualifying Pool 3 – Friday, February 18 at 7:00 pm This pool is sold out

Qualifying Pool 4 – Monday, February 28 at 7:00 pm This pool is sold out

Qualifying Pool 5 – Wednesday, March 2 at 7.30 pm This pool is sold out

Finals Night is Friday 4th March at 7.00 pm

How much to enter?

Entry per team of two players is $130.

How is prize money allocated?

The $10,000 prize pool is allocated on the following basis:

1st- $3000
2nd- $2,000
3rd- $1,200
4th- $800
5th & 6th- $600
7th to 11th- $500
12th to 14th- $300
15th & 16th- $200

How Bowls Australia rating points are awarded

  • 1st receives 54 points
  • 2nd receives 36 points
  • 3rd and 4th receive 18 points
  • 5th to 8th receive 9 points
  • 9th to 16th receive 7 points

What to wear

All players are required to wear Bowls Australia approved apparel

Conditions of Play

Conditions of Play – Qualifying Pools

  • Open pairs – any combination of gender permitted
  • Three-bowl pairs format
  • 15 teams on each Qualifying Pool evening, split into three sections of five teams
  • Open draw on arrival – teams will select their own card to determine which section they are in
  • Sectional play – each team plays every other team in their section
  • Teams will play four games of five ends, with one bye
  • A tied match will count as a tie – no extra ends
  • One roll-up end before the first game only
  • Rinks 1 and 8 will remain free for teams with byes to practice on
  • Quickplay format – leads can only follow their last bowl – skips can only follow their second and final bowls
  • Games to be time-limited to 35 minutes (not including roll-up) – bell will be rung signifying the last end
  • No dead ends – jack to be re-spotted on the 2m mark if taken out of bounds
  • Results within each section will be determined by wins (and draws), then overall shot difference, then overall shots for (if the previous two measures are equal)

Conditions of Play – Finals Night

  • Same conditions as above, with the exception of the following changes:
    • Limited to the Top 16 teams from the qualifying pools – all 15 section winners, plus the next best-ranked team from all of the qualifying pools
    • Open draw on arrival
    • All teams will play four games of six ends
    • No tied games – in the event of a tie at the end of six ends, a tie-breaker will be played by each team member playing one bowl each.
    • Games to be time-limited to 45 minutes – bell will be rung signifying the last end.
    • This is a modified knockout draw of 16, where 16 teams will become eight, then become four, then become two and then one outright winner. Teams losing their first match play another losing team in the following game and keep playing, however, these teams cannot finish in either 1st or 2nd place. The Final will be contested by the only two teams that have won their first three matches – the winner of the Final will be the overall winner.
    • All 16 finals teams will win prize money.

Finals draw